top of page
1.jfif
Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureLs1

People are so willing to accept work

This has always puzzled me. I am 23 years old, just about to finish uni. Yes I have worked all my life in school for the purpose of learning however I have no interest in becoming a part of the workforce. It sounds like exactly what it's called, forced work. Now don't get me wrong, I understand work must be done for survival (food, clothing, shelter) and also if one wants entertainment/luxury. For some reason, I still have not accepted the modern incarnation of a rat race for a piece of paper. It makes zero sense to me. My family accepts it. My classmates and friends seemingly accept it.


When I take time off from school to reflect, I realise people are really suffering from a shortage of TIME, the most valuable life resource. They work, work, work and get two days off on the weekend to prepare for another cycle of work, if they are lucky to have a weekend. Yes economic poverty is a problem and many people work to avoid this, however do not admit to the time poverty they now inhabit. No time for health, no time for recovery, no time for friends/family, no time to reflect on the big questions of life, no wonder most people suck as human beings. We are not given TIME to be ourselves. They say when you are young you have no money, when you are middle age you have no time, when you are elderly you have no energy. But my question is why are people so accepting?


Why can't we short circuit this cycle by living shorter more prosperous lives? Why can't we short circuit this by being less enthusiastic to trap ourselves in the cycle of poverty called having children? Adam Lanza once said culture is a disease. Why do we accept culture so much? Bullshit laws? Politics? War? Becoming sheep? Trying to compete with each other? Hating each other? Religion tearing us apart? Destroying the world? The rat race? Money? Living long lives? Working ourselves to death? Indoctrinating our children to do the same? Chasing some false dream? Trying to change the world when we will all be dead in 100 years anyway? Denying certain truths to ourselves and to others creating taboos? The culture 200 years ago was different and we adjusted to it. The culture today has become beyond toxic and we adjust to it. Is it not possible that the culture can become healthier and we adjust to that too?


Or maybe we should give up on human nature? Michael Jackson once said, when they say why why, tell them that it's human nature. The sad thing is we try to change, just doesn't seem to work.Tell me your thoughts below.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


2.jpg
3.jpg
mics.jpg
Home: Subscribe
Home: Contact
Home: Welcome
bottom of page